A Further Look into Player Types

Posted: February 10, 2013 by zachbruno in Uncategorized

Before I talk about my experience in playing through more of Mark of the Ninja, I wanted to explain my relationship to the player types. First of all, most the time I would call myself a dedicated gamer. I don’t mean that in the sense that I am a hardcore gamer necessarily because the binary between hardcore and casual being equal to dedicated and standard players is not exactly fair. The reason I consider myself a dedicated gamer is because I dedicate myself to a mastery of the game, but at no expense of the operational, constitutive, and implicit rules.

In my time playing Call of Duty, I came across every single type of player. In Call of Duty, the standard players are generally hunted by the dedicated players. The standard player tends to have less knowledge of the map, less knowledge of important game mechanics (eg. How spawn points will change based on where you and your teammates are), and places less importance on his overall strategy to win. The dedicated gamer will learn everything he can about the game in order to facilitate his winning process. In Call of Duty, some of these things include “drop-shooting” (the character will drop to a prone position in order to give the enemy less of a target to fire at),”quick-scoping” (when using a sniper rifle, using the scope only briefly in order to fire accurately and kill in one shot, and the importance of keeping your eye on the radar. The unsportsmanlike player first needs a good enough understanding of the game to know the implicit rules in order to break them. The unsportsmanlike players in COD also try very hard to win, but use cheap tactics that are frowned upon by the community. Some of these tactics include camping (sitting in a room and waiting for enemies to walk by, and never moving from that spot), utilizing glitches in the game in which a player can get to spots on the map that hide him from view, but he is still able to shoot from, and a very specific example from MW2 called “one-man-army noobtoobing” in which players could give themselves infinite grenade launcher ammo and would fire it randomly across the map. The cheat in COD usually come from map hacking (the player can see where people are on the map), aimbots (the computer does all the aiming for you), modded controllers (the controller will fire more quickly than usual), and/or lag switches (in which one players game doesn’t lag, but everyone else’s does).

I think that the concept of player types, specifically related to game design is very interesting because I believe that some games will actually dictate the player type that would enjoy playing the game. For example, there is a game called “I Wanna Be The Boshy”. This game makes it literally impossible to win without dying; it is a side scrolling game that requires such precise control and also previous knowledge that only a player that was determined to beat the game would enjoy playing it.

Mark of the Ninja, I believe, is more accepting of other player types. I continue to play try to figure out as much as I can about the game as I play through it, and try to make cool multiperson executions in the same room without being spotted, but there are certainly other options to be taken. The player is given choices on how to approach different areas, and for example could choose between sneaking through a ventilation system underneath the guards or to fight through a room of guards in it. Personally, I gain more out of a game if I am able to test the amount of control I have gained over the game, and thus I believe that I would qualify as a dedicated gamer. I think that my play through of Mark of the Ninja, which I am trying to upload to youtube but it is taking forever, demonstrates my player type.

Leave a Reply

